The 2017 MLB All Star Game

Posted by Johntathan Villanueva on July 11, 2017

The 2017 Major League Baseball All-Star Break, along with the yearly festivities and the game, are just around the corner. The lineups and benches for both the American League and the National League have been almost completely announced. Regular online voting began on May 1st and concluded on June 29th. There is some hashtag voting going on on twitter right now, where twitter users can vote to fill the final All-Star team spots. Anthony Rendon, Didi Gregorious, and more are hoping their fans can get them in.

This year’s All Star game will be played in Miami, Florida, at Marlins Park, The home of the Miami Marlins. You can catch it on FOX this Tuesday, July 11. It’s also on ESPN radio. First pitch is a little after 8:00 PM, US East time.

One strange thing about this year’s all star game, is that it is completely worthless. Yes, you read that correctly. Previously, the League that wins the All Star game, has home-field advantage in the world series. Last season the American League won, and so the Cleveland Indians got to host Game 7 of the World Series. However, this year, the All Star game serves no purpose. The Team in the World Series with the better regular season record will have home-field advantage in that best of seven.

Another interesting note about the host of this all star game, is it is the first time the Miami Marlins or Florida Marlins (previously) have hosted the All-Star game. And there is only one more remaining team who has not hosted the All-Star game. That would be the Tampa Bay Rays, and they probably won’t soon unless they get a new stadium.

The 88th Major League Baseball All Star game’s starting lineups are:

American League:

Catcher, Salvador Perez, Kansas City

First Baseman, Justin Smoak, Toronto

Second Baseman, Jose Altuve, Houston

Third Baseman, Jose Ramirez, Cleveland

Shortstop, Carlos Correa, Houston

Outfielder, Mike Trout (Replaced, backup not yet known), Los Angeles

Outfielder, Aaron Judge, New York

Outfielder, George Springer, Houston

Designated Hitter, Corey Dickerson, Tampa Bay

And in the National League:

Catcher, Buster Posey, San Francisco

First Baseman, Ryan Zimmerman, Washington

Second Baseman, Daniel Murphy, Washington

Third Baseman, Nolan Arenado, Colorado

Shortstop, Zack Cozart, Cincinnati

Outfielder, Charlie Blackmon, Colorado

Outfielder, Bryce Harper, Washington

Outfielder, Marcell Ozuna, Miami

Some Notes about the starting lineups:

In the American League, the starter with the most All-Star appearances is Mike Trout, from Los Angeles. This is his 6th All Star selection.

In the National League, the starter with the most All-Star appearances is both Buster Posey from San Francisco and Bryce Harper from Washington, with both of their 5ths.

Houston has the most starters selected in the American League, with three starting batters.

Washington Has the most in the National League, with three.

The Umpires for the game have already been anounced, and the MLB is using the 6 umpire format that is used for the postseason. The following umpires will be making the calls on Tuesday night:

Home Plate – Joe West (crew chief); First Base – Angel Hernandez; Second Base – Mark Carlson; Third Base – Chris Conroy; Left Field – Manny Gonzalez; Right Field – Mike Estabrook; Replay Official – Doug Eddings