Final Additions to the 2017 MLB All Star Game

Posted by Johntathan Villanueva on July 12, 2017

BREAKING — According to Ken Rosenthal on twitter, The Final All-Star spots have been claimed by Kansas City’s Mike Moustakas, and Los Angeles’ Justin Turner.

Both Moustakas and Turner have been selected, via twitter hashtag voting for the final two(2) All-Star game spots.

In the American League, in order of twitter votes, Mike Moustakas beat out Xander Bogaerts, Didi Gregorius, Elvis Andrus and Logan Morrison

In the National League, in order of twitter votes, Justin Turner beat out Kris Bryant, Anthony Rendon, Mark Reynolds, and Justin Bour.

Fans of any of these final players who were in contention, were able to use twitter to either tweet the hashtag for each player, or retweet any tweet with the hashtag in it, to cast a vote for their preferred player. This system was also used for the NBA All Star game, and is first being used for Major League Baseball this season.

Some Strange Facts that you probably didn’t know about the results of this season’s voting:

Kris Bryant is the first reigning MVP not to make the All-Star game the following year, since Jimmy Rollins of the Phillies in 2008.

The Chicago Cubs, after winning the world series last year, will not have a single player in the All-Star team. They will be the only World Series champions ever, to not have a returning player in an All-Star game, since the All-Star game began.

Justin Turner has an OBP (on-base-percentage) of 0.473 (47%). The last player to do that in the first half of a season, was Barry Bonds of San Francisco (with a minimum of 250 plate-appearances)